The ESMI is a non-profit association created in July 2005.

The initial aim of creating an interdisciplinary scientific European MI society was to ensure sustainability of the achievements of three major European projects - DiMI, EMIL, and MOLIM. The coordinators and project partners of the projects have been the driving forces of the first years of the ESMI. Meanwhile the project period of all three networks ended and the ESMI succeed in establishing an independent structure. But we need you as members to further extend our actions and to further establish a (European) MI community become an ESMI member

ESMI founding members:



  • University of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • University of Basel (Switzerland)
  • University of Bordeaux (France)
  • University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
  • University Hospital Cologne (Germany)
  • University Hospital Rigshospitalet Copenhagen (Danemark)
  • University of Durham (United Kingdom)
  • Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
  • Eindhoven University of Technology (the Netherlands)
  • Groningen University Medical Center (the Netherlands)
  • Leiden University Medical Center (the Netherlands)
  • University of Milano (Italy)
  • University of Mons-Hainaut (Belgium)
  • University of Mainz (Germany)
  • University of Manchester (United Kingdom)
  • University of Munich (Germany)
  • Nijmegen University Medical Center (the Netherlands)
  • University of Oslo (Norway)
  • University of Torino (Italy)
  • University of Tours (Paris)

Research Centres:

  • CEA (France)
  • CNR (Italy)
  • CSIC (Spain)
  • FORTH (Geece)
  • Institut Curie (France)
  • Max Planck Institute for Neurological Reseach (Germany)


  • Philips (The Netherlands)
  • Biospace (France)
  • Bracco (Italy)
  • GE Amersham (Italy)
  • Guerbet (France)
  • Mauna Kea (France)
  • Schering (Germany)
  • Siemens (Germany)